Download our Android App!
Sage's Android App
Download our Apple App!
Sage's Apple App

Donate to Sages

Title
    Premium Member

Bumping the shoulder back.

I'm still new to all this and understand what it means (kinda) but unsure how to accomplish it. What is the process for "just bumping the shoulder back" on fire formed cases that will be used in the same rifle? Does this require a certain type of die or can it be done with a FL or SB die? I'm assuming it is done by not screwing the die all the way so it is not touching the shell plate? How do you know where to stop?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    Just don't tell my wife how much any of this really costs.

Title
    Premium Member
    What are you shooting? Auto loader or bolt?

Title
    In order to know where the shoulder is before and after "bumping", you'll need a headspace comparator gauge such as the one from Hornady. Here's a good video that describes the process and how to use the comparator, as well as full-length sizing vs. neck sizing vs. bump sizing: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V2Wt8-VqeAE

Title
    Premium Member
    Currently I reload for 223 ans 300 blackout both in the AR platform. I'm not currently having any issues I'm just trying to get a better understanding of this.

Title
    I typically bump the shoulder back .001"-.002" for most of my bolt guns, but I do neck size for a couple of them as well. For all my AR platform rounds, I full-length size to get back to standard dimensions for better feeding and reliability.

Title
    Premium Member
    Quote Originally Posted by cynjon View Post
    In order to know where the shoulder is before and after "bumping", you'll need a headspace comparator gauge such as the one from Hornady. Here's a good video that describes the process and how to use the comparator, as well as full-length sizing vs. neck sizing vs. bump sizing: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V2Wt8-VqeAE